Photo

Descent fan from the beginning willing to help

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

CraZZyEddie

CraZZyEddie
  • 9 posts
  • United States

I'm an original descent player that followed the genera from I to  II and  III.

I come from way back in the dos days and I remember my first voodoo card.

I have 15+ years C++ experience ranging from MSDOS, Windows, OS2 and some cross-platform work moving server code to AIX.

I also have 12+ years C# working with some web but mostly windows smart client code.  

I currently work on a design package used by a very huge retailer that includes WPF, DirectX and OpenGL code for 3D rendering.  While I am not a 3D expert I have worked with the technology for quite a while.  My primary platform of choice has been Microsoft platforms.  As of late I have also been experimenting with Unity3D on the side.  

I also at one time built Quake III plugins that provided autofire, a jetpack and variable speed homing missiles.  The missles had a unique feature they they started super slow and once they found a target sped up.  This allowed a balance for the autofire BFG.  You could effectively mine a room with missiles that would creep along until someone entered the room.  My friend was also a little dismayed when I added selective targeting on the missiles.  You could also give the missiles a hint that if there were multiple targets to prefer a particular player.  When the missiles found a preferred player they would announce the find onto the multiplayer window. I remember my friend wailing about WTF is a Brian missile.

In the early PC days I also worked with a team building some of the very first games for original IBM pc.  We were doing coin-op conversions of games for Konami and Taito.  Looking back on things they really suck but the platform really sucked also.  My primary job back then was doing graphics with deluxe paint from EA however I did have my hand in some of the Amiga code also.

I'm not sure how I can help.